Manukau Set to Challenge BOP

The prestigious Hawke Cup will start today in Te Puke where Bay of Plenty will defend their trophy. File Photo.

The first cricket challenge for the prestigious Hawke Cup will start today in Te Puke where Bay of Plenty will defend their trophy against Counties Manukau. 

Counties Manukau won the right to challenge for the Hawke Cup after finishing top in the Northern Districts elimination series conducted over the 2017 calendar year.

At 10.30am the public will see a rematch of last season's Hawke Cup Challenge whereby BOP kept Counties Manukau in the field for over two days after amassing a record score of 701.   

Bay of Plenty has successfully fended off four challenges since winning the Hawke Cup from Hawkes Bay in March 2016.  

Bay of Plenty

Peter Drysdale

Tom MacRury

Joe Carter

Bharat Popli

Sean Davey

Jono Boult VC

Ben Musgrave

Tim Clarke

Tim Pringle

Tommy Clout

Chris Atkinson

Alastair Blackett

Counties Manukau

Luke Williamson, Karaka

Tristan Payle, Manukau

Ash Vodnala, Puke - Metro

Michael Schofield, Karaka

Amitoze Singh, Papakura (overseas player)

Scott Johnston, Manukau

Ryan Phizackerley, Papakura

James Naylor, Waiuku

JJ Mills, Manukau

Reid Somani, Puke - Metro

Sam Varcoe, Karaka

Ben Reece, Puke-Metro

Th Bay of Plenty versus Counties Manukau Hawke Cup Challenge will run from January 27-29 at 10.30am at Te Puke Domain, Te Puke.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

Who would you like to see lead the National Party?

Simon Bridges
Judith Collins
Amy Adams
Steven Joyce
Todd Muller

Bay Today

Enjoying Tauranga’s waterfront. Photo: Scott K MacLeod.

Send us your photos from around the Bay of Plenty.