Mount win Baywide Twenty 20 title

Carrus Mount Maunganui have won their first Baywide T20 title. File photo.

Carrus Mount Maunganui became the fourth name to be engraved on the Baywide Twenty 20 trophy since the all-action competition began in 2012, when they defeated Element IMF Cadets in the 2018 title decider at Fergusson Park on Saturday.

Mount Maunganui won the toss and, led by 92 runs from Mount club stalwart Peter Drysdale, set their long-time rivals a big challenge when they reached 176/8 in their allotted overs.

Nick Smith, who is another long-time Mount Maunganui premier player, posted a handy 38 runs.

Cadets all-rounder Sean Davey was the best of his side’s bowling attack with three wickets at a cost of 31 runs, while skipper Jono Boult made the Mount batsmen work for their runs, taking two wickets.

The defending title-holders needed nearly nine runs an over and made a blazing start, with Sean Davey going on to top score with 42 runs. A stunning catch on the boundary by Dominic Radich removed Jono Boult when he was looking to hit out. Peter Drysdale backed up his batting heroics holding two catches in the deep, as Cadets were removed for 134, to give Mount Maunganui their first Baywide T20 title.

Mount captain Dale Swan bowled his usual economic style to capture three wickets, with Chris Atkinson also in the action with three bowling scalps. Craig Baldry, fresh out of Tauranga Boys’ College, took two wickets for his new club. The Mount Maunganui victory reversed a Cadets six wicket win in preliminary play from the previous weekend.

While Cadets had already booked a finals berth with enough points, while sitting out the early afternoon round seven bye, Mount Maunganui qualified for the title decider after beating Te Puke in the last qualifying round.

Mount Maunganui batted first and posted 163 for the loss of eight wickets. Ben Musgrave top scored with 31 runs with new Te Puke recruit Mikaere Leef taking two wickets. Led by a half century from Te Puke veteran Tai Bridgman-Raison, Te Puke were in the hunt for victory throughout most of the contest.

Te Puke were restricted to 146 for the loss of nine wickets to give Mount Maunganui a place in the final stanza. In other round seven action, Greerton despatched Central Indians while Lake Taupo finished at the bottom of the qualifying points table after being defeated by Tauranga Boys’ College.

Baywide T20 Final

Carrus Mount Maunganui 176/6 (P Drysdale 92, N Smith 38; S Davey 3/31, J Boult 2/29) defeated Element IMF Cadets 134 (S Davey 42; D Swan 3/12, C Atkinson 3/33, C Baldry 2/21)

Round Seven

Carrus Mount Maunganui 163/8 (B Musgrave 31, D Smith 27, N Smith 25; M Leef 2/30) defeated New World Te Puke 146/9 (T Bridgman-Raison 58, C MacDonald 26no; D Smith 2/22)

Eves Realty Greerton 146/7 (T MacRury 46) defeated Bayleys Central Indians 102

Cooney Lees Morgan Tauranga Boys’ College 163/5 (I Singh 47, T Clarke 41, M Collett 35) defeated GM Painters Lake Taupo CC

Element IMF Cadets the bye

Points Table

Cadets 15, Mount Maunganui 15, Greerton 12, Te Puke 9, Central Indians 6, Tauranga Boys’ College 6, Lake Taupo CC 0.

BOPCA Baywide Twenty 20 Championship

2011/12 (Tauranga Boys’ College) 2012/13 (Tauranga Boys’ College) 2013/14 (Rotorua Central) 2014/15 (Rotorua Central) 2015/16 (Otumoetai Cadets) 2016/17 not played – 2017/18 (Mount Maunganui)


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

Would you take a homeless person in for a night?