All Blacks Sevens ready for Vancouver Sevens

Captains of the teams competing in the Vancouver Sevens tournament. Photo: NZ Rugby.

The Vancouver Sevens awaits the All Blacks Sevens, with their second tournament on the World Series kicking off this weekend.

There are two changes to the team that finished second in Singapore last weekend, with Andrew Knewstubb and Joe Webber replaced by Ngarohi McGarvey-Black and Kurt Baker.

Andrew returned to New Zealand this week after suffering a knee injury in the semi-final, while Joe sits out after suffering a concussion.

The team have fond memories of Vancouver, winning the tournament in 2020 and Captain Sam Dickson said it is always one of the favourite stops on the series.

“It’s been great to come to Vancouver. We’ve been away from home for a while now in hot, humid conditions so Vancouver has been quite confronting with the cold and wet but we’ve enjoyed it; it reminds me of back home in the South Island,” says Sam.

The All Blacks Sevens will face Japan, Wales and Samoa on day one of the Vancouver tournament.

“All three matches will be tough battles. Japan have beaten us before at the Olympics in 2016 so we know anything can happen. Wales are a proud rugby nation – we enjoy coming up against them and then Samoa, they are going really good at the moment,” says Sam.

The team is:
1. Kitiona Vai
2. Brady Rush
3. Tone Ng Shiu
4. Trael Joass
5. Dylan Collier
6. Akuila Rokolisoa
7. Sam Dickson - captain
8. Ngarohi McGarvey-Black
9. Regan Ware
10. Kurt Baker
11. Leroy Carter
12. Caleb Tangitau
13. Moses Leo


Day One – Sunday April 17 (NZT) 5.06am v Japan 8.17am v Wales 11.28am v Samoa


Day Two – Monday April  18
Play offs


Broadcast Watch the HSBC Vancouver Sevens on Sky Sport


Helpful Links HSBC Sevens World Series website Series tournaments Series standings Series stats


All Blacks Sevens 2022 schedule: 9-10 April HSBC Sevens Series, Signapore – RUNNERS-UP 16-17 April HSBC Sevens Series, Vancouver 20-22 May HSBC Seven Series, Toulouse 28-29 May HSBC Sevens Series, London 29 July - 1 August Commonwealth Games, England 27-28 August HSBC Sevens Series, Los Angeles 9-11 September Rugby World Cup Sevens, South Africa


You may also like....


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now