BOP Under 19 squad named

The Bay of Plenty Rugby U19 Squad is building nicely towards the Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 tournament.

The tournament will be held in Taupo from Sunday, September 27, through to Saturday, October 3.

The Under 19 squad has been picked. File photo.

The squad has been in preparation for the past three months, training once a week throughout the club season.

Thus far they have played two pre-season matches. They play Hawke’s Bay this Saturday before starting the Chiefs competition, which will act as seeding matches for the National Tournament.  The Under 19 competition is a big focus for Provincial Unions.

The Bay of Plenty Rugby Union is treating this competition as a big opportunity to develop players and promote them to the next level, whether it is the New Zealand Under 20’s or the Bay of Plenty Steamers.

The level of development should impact positively on the club competition also.  Head Coach Cory Sweeney says the Bay of Plenty U19 initial squad has been selected from a group of committed and proud Bay of Plenty players spread throughout the region.

“It’s an exciting group of players who have been working together for just over eight weeks and tracking really well as we head into our first preseason game this weekend.

“The boys are motivated by representing themselves and the union with pride during September and under the microscope of the National U/19 tournament. They are a talented group of young men worth watching and supporting over the next two months.”

The squad:


Diardu Terblanche – Tauranga Sports

Leighton Hika – Rangataua

Fraser Bruce – Greerton Marist

Dennis Newton – Whakarewarewa

Craig Blyde – Greerton Marist

Pete Smith – Whakatane Marist

Billy Carter – Te Puna

Tuterangi Te Moana – Opotiki

Ben McDell – Marist St Michael’s

Salesi Leota – Rangiuru

Jamie Ure – Rangataua

Matt Ensor – Tauranga Sports

Bailey Ransom – Rangataua

Kruzzyn Herniman – Arataki

Ben Sinclair – Te Puna

Thomas Allen – Tauranga Sports

Darren Tiumalu – Greerton Marist

Sioeli ‘Alofiu – Rotoiti


Scott Tallott – Greerton Marist

Hayden Tyrrell – Tauranga  Sports

Tute Grant – Rangataua

Zane Crosswell – Greerton Marist

Levi Tofa – Judea

Declan Barnett – Te Puke Sports

Alex Thrupp – Rangataua

Corban Selwyn – Waikite

Dominic Sherell – Te Puke Sports

Zach Bell – Greerton Marist

Scott Lyle – Tauranga Sports

Jesse Church – Te Puna


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now