Finalists announced for TECT awards

Image: Supplied

Community groups, volunteers and young changemakers are striving to make the Western Bay of Plenty a better place to live.

And now they are being recognised as finalists for the TECT community awards.

The awards will be held at Baycourt Community and Arts Centre on March 19.

Finalists are in the running for six main awards - Event Excellence, Sustainable Future, Diversity and Inclusion, Rising Star, Youth Spirit and Volunteer of the Year.

The judging panel made up of community representatives Allison Stewart, Carlo Ellis and Paul Geoghegan was highly impressed by the calibre of nominations in each award category.

Allison says the panel were grateful to be involved in the judging process and enjoyed seeing the generosity of skills and spirit that happens in our region.

“The nominations and finalists are an encouraging indicator of the diverse ways individuals and community groups are working to provide a brighter future for our region.

"It’s fantastic that we can recognise all the people and groups who give so much to our community at the TECT Community Awards.”

Western Bay of Plenty Mayor Garry Webber says the awards reflect the huge contribution by volunteers across the Western Bay District.

“It’s a difficult task ahead for the judges to select a winner out of such diverse entries – not only the diversity of individuals but the diversity of the groups within the categories.

“On behalf of our Council, I appreciate TECT’s initiative in setting up this process to recognise the shining stars in our communities.”

Tauranga Mayor Tenby Powell said the awards will provide an opportunity to hear about some of the fantastic initiatives and volunteers keeping our community thriving.

“The TECT Community Awards highlight the breadth, depth and excellence of our community organisations, and the grassroots strength which makes Tauranga and the Western Bay such a great place to live. Congratulations to the nominees and finalists.”

The finalists for the TECT Community Awards are:

Event Excellence Award

  • Katikati Festival of Cultures
  • Pasifika in the Bay Festival
  • Tauranga Fringe Village Festival
  • Tarnished Frocks and Divas
  • Tauranga STEM Festival (STEMFest)

Sustainable Future Award

  • Bay Conservation Alliance
  • Good Neighbour Aotearoa Trust
  • Maketu Ongatoro Wetland Society
  • Western Bay Wildlife Trust
  • YSAR Tauranga Trust

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Blue Light
  • Recreate NZ
  • The Search Party Charitable Trust
  • Wish 4 Fish
  • Youth Encounter Ministries Trust

Rising Star Award

  • Bay Originals
  • Gender Dynamix
  • RRR - Rescue Revive Rehome
  • TCSC Creative Group

Youth Spirit Award

  • Brylee Comer
  • Irene Vakasiuola
  • Jack Miller
  • James Power
  • Louis Donovan

Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Brett Williamson
  • Bryce Dinneen
  • Elise Rohde
  • Sam Fellows
  • Trevor Clist

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now