New awards recognise inclusivity

Tauranga Disability Advisory Group chairman Paul Curry. File Photo.

A new awards ceremony will celebrate achievement and innovation in building an inclusive community.

The Tauranga Disability Advisory Group has just launched the Tauranga City Accessibility Awards, which seeks to recognise developers, architects, builders and business owners who demonstrate a commitment towards universal design – making things safer, easier and more convenient for everyone.

Tauranga Disability Advisory Group chairman Paul Curry says the awards are about celebrating those buildings and businesses that allow everyone to move around freely, and to feel included and valued as a member of the community.

'We want to encourage equal opportunities in Tauranga by creating an accessible and inclusive community. If the environment recognises human diversity and various life scenarios such as disability, injury, childhood, pregnancy and old age, then it benefits everyone,” says Paul.

The awards will cover three categories:

  • a building that is fully inclusive and accessible, and embraces universal design principles;
  • a business/organisation that ensures the most accessible use of its premises; and
  • a business/organisation that promotes a culture of inclusiveness.

The community is encouraged to nominate building developers, owners and business operators who have embraced social inclusion in the development of their site and/or operation of their business.

The awards will be presented at the Tauranga City Council Community and Culture Committee meeting on December 12, the same month as International Day of Persons with Disabilities on December 3.

Tauranga City Council Community Development advisor Dani Jurgeleit says celebrating International Day of Persons with Disabilities and raising the concepts of universal design with the community are just two of the goals within the council's disability strategy.

'The vision of our Disability Strategy is for Tauranga to be an inclusive city where everyone has the opportunity to participate fully in our community,” says Dani.

Nominations for the Accessibility Awards close on November 17.

Nominate at:

For more information, visit

You may also like....


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment.