Te Puke leading premiership race

File photo.

Te Puke Sports, Greerton Marist and Tauranga Sports have taken significant steps to secure berths in the semi-finals in four weeks time, when they posted victories in the AR Plus Baywide premiership title race on Saturday.

Maramatanga Park was the venue for the encounter between reigning Baywide titleholders Te Puna and current premiership competition leaders Te Puke Sports.

Te Puke scored four tries, awarded to Bradley Armstrong, Wemin Kapai, Fletcher Carpenter and Jackson Hollinshead, to lead 24-12 at halftime. The two Te Puna touchdowns were scored by Liam Morrison.

The Te Puke Pirates player of the day, Faauma Kupita, opened the scoring in the second spell, before Liam Morrison crossed for his third try of the match. The two sides then traded a five-pointer apiece with Te Puke Sports taking home a hard fought 34-22 win.

Tauranga Sports rebounded from last week's defeat inflicted by Greerton Marist, to run in seven tries in their 47-17 victory over Rangataua. The hosts led 19-10 after forty minutes, before posting 28 points in the second spell, to move into third place on the standings.

Greerton Marist repelled the challenge of Rotorua visitors Whakarewarewa at Greerton headquarters, to post a solid 36-14 victory and re-ink second place on the points ladder.

The Baywide championship clash between Judea and Marist St Michaels went down to the wire, before Judea prevailed by a solitary point to grab a 25-24 victory. Mount Maunganui continued their assault on the championship title when they beat Ngongotaha 48-7.

Mount Maunganui continued their vice-like grip on the Colts competition in posting seventy-one unanswered points against Greerton Marist. Te Puke Sports defeated Kahukura 29 nil, with Tauranga Sports getting past a solid challenge from Papamoa 25-18.

Western Bay of Plenty Championship teams to emerge victorious were Te Puna, Tauranga Sports, Rangataua, Mount Maunganui, Greerton Marist and Katikati. 

BOPRU AR Plus Club Rugby Results June 22 2024


Premiership: Te Puke Sports 34 Te Puna 22, Greerton Marist 36 Whakarewarewa 14, Tauranga Sports 47 Rangataua 17.

Points Table: Te Puke Sports 49, Greerton Marist 44, Tauranga Sports 38, Te Puna 34, Whakarewarewa 34, Rangataua 25. 

Championship: Judea 25 Marist St Michaels 24, Mount Maunganui 48 Ngongotaha 7.

Points Table: Mount Maunganui 33, Marist St Michaels 13, Judea 10, Ngongotaha 3.

BOPRU Colts/U85kg

Te Puke Sports 29 Kahukura 0, Tauranga Sports 25 Papamoa 18, Mount Maunganui 71 Greerton Marist 0, Te Puna the bye. 

WBOPRSU Championship/Baywide Promotion

Tauranga Sports 27 Eastern Districts 7, Te Puna 40 Papamoa 0, Rangataua 26 Arataki 17, Mount Maunganui 31 Rangiuru 17, Greerton Marist 63 Matakana Island 12, Katikati 28 Te Puke Sports 19, Judea the bye.

All Points Tables can be found at www.boprugby.co.nz


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment.