IYSF NZ Nationals 2022 entries now open

Supplied images.

The search is on for the best young Kiwi filmmakers in Aotearoa with submissions now open for the 2022 International Youth Silent Film Festival New Zealand Nationals.

The IYSFF is an annual global competition challenging young filmmakers, aged 20 and under (as of April 15, 2022) from across the United States of America, Montenegro, Hungary, Australia, The United Arab Emirates, and New Zealand to create a three-minute silent film set to one of 10 musical scores composed specifically for the festival.

Submissions for the 2022 competition close at 11.59pm on Thursday, September 1.

For more information or to enter, visit the IYSSF’s global website at www.makesilentfilm.com  

A panel will select the top 15 films to be screened live at the NZ National Awards Final on Wednesday, November 16, taking place at the home to the IYSFF in Aotearoa, Baycourt Community & Arts Centre in Tauranga.

This year there are prizes for the top three placed films plus seven ‘Best Of’ category awards to be won. In addition, the top two Kiwi films will go on to represent New Zealand at the annual IYSFF Global Awards in Portland, Oregon, USA, in 2023.

“The IYSFF provides an amazing opportunity for our young Kiwi creatives to share their stories and imagination not only with their friends and family, but with all of Aotearoa, and indeed, globally too,” says Baycourt manager Reena Snook.

“It’s an exciting time when submissions open and the films start to stream in. Since the New Zealand division of the IYSFF debuted at Baycourt back in 2016, every year the films entered are consistently of a superb quality. We’ve got no doubts this trend will continue in 2022.”

The Aotearoa organisers are also delighted to announce they will be once again rolling out the red carpet for this year’s National Awards Final, which will return to being an in-person ceremony after two years of online broadcasts due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The cherry on the top for the Aotearoa organisers is IYSFF founder Jon ‘JP’ Palanuk will be travelling to Aotearoa from the United States to attend the NZ Awards Final – the first time since 2018.

JP will be joined at the ceremony by the IYSFF’s official composer Nathan Avakian, who will perform the soundtrack for each of the 15 finalists’ films live on Baycourt’s mighty Wurlitzer Theatre Organ.

“Both JP and Nathan are massive champions of the Aotearoa branch of the IYSFF competition. We’re over the moon that they’re planning to travel halfway across the globe to join us in celebrating our amazing young Kiwi filmmakers this year,” says Snook.

The IYSFF NZ Nationals 2022 is delivered with support from major media partner The Breeze Tauranga 95.8FM.

For rules, soundtracks, or to make a submission visit the IYSFF’s website at www.makesilentfilm.com or for more information about the IYSFF NZ National 2022 competition visit www.baycourt.co.nz/youth/iysff-nz-nationals

You may also like....


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now