The NZ cricket awards like you have never seen

In a break from tradition and a nod to the current COVID-19 ‘Stay At Home’ provisions, the 2020 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards will be for the first time presented electronically - from Tuesday 11am this week.

The awards, which honour the outstanding contributors to the community, domestic and international game, will be announced over the coming four days with the Bert Sutcliffe Medal opening proceedings tomorrow, and the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal rounding out the celebrations on Friday.

Laura McGoldrick will be hosting daily video award packages featuring highlights and interviews with all the big winners, which will be showcased across all NZC social channels and at daily from 11am.

Thursday will see a special LIVE broadcast via the NZC YouTube channel from 10:30am, in which Laura will announce, and be joined by, the ANZ ODI and T20 men’s and women’s Players of the Year for an interactive Q&A session.

All award winners will be available to media via zoom press conferences following the daily announcements and additional interview content will also be supplied to assist with stories.

Please see below for the running order of the week and a list of last year’s winners.

2020 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards, April 28 – 1 May


Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket

(2018-19 winner: Ewen Chatfield)

Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Frankie Mackay)

Men’s Dream11 Smash Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Tom Bruce)


Men’s Domestic Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Devon Conway)

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Natalie Dodd)

The Redpath Cup for first-class batting

(2018-19 winner: Kane Williamson)

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting

(2018-19 winner: Natalie Dodd)

The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling

(2018-19 winner: Trent Boult)

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling:

(2018-19 winner: Amelia Kerr)

Thursday – 10:30am LIVE

ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Amelia Kerr)

ANZ International Men’s ODI Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Ross Taylor)

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Sophie Devine)

ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Colin Munro)


ANZ International Test Player of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Kane Williamson)

G.J. Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year

(2018-19 winner: Chris Brown)

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

(2018-19 winner: Kane Williamson)

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now