Lake Taupo CC post first win

Newcomers GM Painters Lake Taupo CC have beaten Cooney Lees Morgan Tauranga Boys’ College in the latest round of the Baywide Cup. File photo.

Baywide Cup newcomers GM Painters Lake Taupo CC rubber-stamped their premier credentials when they won their first Baywide cricket encounter, beating Cooney Lees Morgan Tauranga Boys' College at Nicholson Field in the Western Bay of Plenty.

The Tauranga students batted first and posted a respectable target, reaching 199/9 in their 50 overs.

Batting at three, Dominic Crombie anchored his side's innings with 77 runs, with Marcel Collett (40) and Tasman Carsons (24) making handy contributions. John Dolan and Moko Rivers took three bowling scalps apiece.

With 35 runs on the board and three batsmen back in the pavilion, the Great Lake visitors were in trouble. The arrival of Habib Malik at the crease turned the momentum of the match as he took control, taking his side home to victory with an unbeaten 88. The Taupo batsman's runs came from 101 balls with ten 4's and one big hit over the boundary ropes. Roger Urbahn scored at a run a ball to reach 41 before being dismissed and combined with Habib Malik to put on a 90 run partnership.

Element IMF Cadets regained the lead in the Baywide Cup standings, with a five wicket win over Eves Realty Greerton, at Cadets headquarters at the Tauranga Domain. Greerton skipper Shane Wineti carried his bat as he posted an undefeated 77 runs, in his side's total of 167 all out. Scott Steward did plenty of damage with ball taking three wickets for 24 runs.

Cadets lost a wicket in the second over, before Joe Carter and Scott Steward dug in. The home team were in control when Carter fell for 44, with Steward going on to take his side to the win points on offer with an unbeaten 55.

Defending Baywide Cup title holders Carrus Mount Maunganui had a successful visit to Rotorua, where they cruised to a 92 run win against Bayleys Central Indians. Batting first, Mount Maunganui reached 222/7, led by 98 runs from Bay of Plenty representative batsman Ben Musgrave. Peter Drysdale (44) and Nick Smith (39) also made solid contributions. Three wickets apiece to Tony Goodin and Peter Drysdale wrecked the home side's innings, as they were removed for 130, to propel Mount Maunganui into second spot on the Baywide standings.

BOPCA Baywide Cup Round Four Results

Eves Realty Greerton 167 (Shane Wineti 77no, Sean Wakelin 29; Scott Steward 3/24, Jono Boult 2/21, Sean Davey 2/31) Element IMF lost to Cadets 168/5 (S Steward 55no, Joe Carter 44; Brett Hampton 2/16)

Carrus Mount Maunganui 222/7 (Ben Musgrave 98, Peter Drysdale 44, Nick Smith 39; Ben Watkinson 2/29) defeated Bayleys Central Indians 130 (AJ Kumar 36, Ben Sandford 29; Tony Goodin 3/14, P Drysdale 3/30)

Cooney Lees Morgan Tauranga Boys' College 199/9 (Dominic Crombie 79; Marcel Collett 4, Tasman Carsons 24; John Dolan 3/24, Moko Rivers 3/34, Roger Urbahn 2/35) lost to GM Painters Lake Taupo CC 201/5(Habib Malik 88no, R Urbahn 41; Craig Baldry 2/45)

New World Te Puke the bye.

Points Table (Provisional)

Cadets 16, Mount Maunganui 13, Greerton 13, Tauranga Boys' College 10, Te Puke 10, Lake Taupo CC 9, Central Indians 6.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

Who would you like to see lead the National Party?

Simon Bridges
Judith Collins
Amy Adams
Steven Joyce
Todd Muller

Bay Today

Sunset over Matakana Island. Photo: Linda Howe.

Send us your photos from around the Bay of Plenty.